Home Contact Sitemap


Canadian Network of International Reading Association Councils (CNIRAC) is a non-profit organization that connects the provincial associations, local reading councils, special interest councils and groups of the International Literacy Association in Canada. The purpose CNIRAC is to provide communication and serve as a forum for discussion on Canadian literacy issues.


British Columbia Literacy Council

Carrie Froese - President

Kate Spence - President Elect

Jennifer Jager - Vice President

Mandy Yeung & Shannon Painter - Secretary

Nancy Sinclair - Treasurer

April Chan - Membership Development

Carrie Froese - Provincial Co-Coordinator


Alberta Provincial Council

Carol Leroy - President

Joan Walker - President

Robina Penney - Director of Membership Development

Su Kerslake - Coordinator

Kathleen Downing - Coordinator


Saskatchewan Reading Council




Shelley Galloway - President

Nicole Lefebvre - Vice President

Heather Hobbs - Secretary

Pam Foy - Treasurer

Chelsea Galloway - Membership

Juanita Brown - Coordinator


Manitoba Reading Association





Barb Galessiere - President

Louise Duncan - President Elect

Sandi Shaw-Lyons - Vice President

Kim Siwak - Secretary

Arlene Kinden - Treasurer

Brenda Grieve - Membership

Carol Hryniuk-Adamov - Provincial Coordinator


Ontario Reading Association

Lorainne Giroux - President

K. Giroux - President

Garth Brooks - Director of Membership Development

Joanne Colbourne - Coordinator


North of 60 Council

Janice Fehr - President

Michele Brown - Director of Membership Development